Ma Ying-jeou wins second term as President of Taiwan

The results are in! The incumbent President and KMT Chairman Ma Ying-jeou 馬英九 and his running mate Premier Wu Den-yih 吳敦義  has won the 2012 Presidential and Vice Presidential Election of Taiwan 中華民國總統副總統選舉. They received 51.6% (6,891,139 votes) of the ballots cast, winning over the 45.6% (6,093,578 votes) their opponents DPP Presidential Candidate Tsai Ing-wen 蔡英文 and DPP Secretary-General Su Jia-chyuan 蘇嘉全 received. PFP Founding Chairman James Soong Chu-yu 宋楚瑜 and his running mate National Taiwan University Professor Emeritus Lin Ruey-shiung 林瑞雄 received 2.8% (369,588 votes) of the ballots. A voter turnout of 74.38% was recorded (13,452,016 out of 18,086,455, 97,711 ballots were invalidate). President Ma and Vice President-elect Wu will be sworn in office on May 20, 2012 at the Presidential Building 總統府 in Taipei City 臺北市, Taiwan.

It should be noted that even though President Ma won the election, his support has dropped since 2008, when he was elected President with 7.6 million votes, or 58% of the total. Tsai Ing-wen wasn’t the candidate four years ago, but her Democratic Progressive Party’s share has risen from 5.45 million votes, 41.6% in 2008, to 6.09 million, 45.6% in 2012. Read more in BBC’s analysis and The Economist.

The results for the Legislative Elections 立法委員選舉 are also in! Kuomintang (KMT) 中國國民黨 maintains the majority in the Legislative Yuan 立法院, with 64 seats, while Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) 民主進步黨 remains the largest opposition party, with 40 seats. Of the rest of the 113 seats in the Legislative Yuan, People First Party (PFP) 親民黨 occupies 3, Taiwan Solidarity Union (TSU) 台灣團結聯盟 occupies 3, Non-Partisan Solidarity Union (NPSU) 無黨團結聯盟 occupies 2, and there is one independent occupying 1 seat.

2012 Legislative Yuan

KMT = 64 | DPP = 40 | PFP = 3 | TSU = 3 | NPSU = 2 | Independent = 1

Of the 113 legislators, 75 are male and 38 are female, and the average age of the legislators is 52.49.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s