International Organizations

Despite the People’s Republic of China’s obstruction, Taiwan has managed to either stay or become members of many important international organizations. Even though the ROC’s seat in many international organizations was replaced by the PRC after 1971, through countless efforts, Taiwan is able to have its voice heard somewhere in the international society.

World Trade Organization

The World Trade Organization (WTO) was created in 1994, world trade was mostly regulated under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), first signed by 23 countries (including the Republic of China) in 1948. However, when the Nationalists lost the civil war and retreated to Taiwan in 1949, the ROC government declared to withdraw from GATT due to political and economic instability. 16 years later in 1965, ROC re-entered GATT as an observer. This did not last long as in 1971 ROC lost its seat in the UN. GATT followed UN’s decision and revoked ROC’s status as an observer. After 30 years of development, Taiwan had become one of the world’s most successful economics, and its application to be a member of the WTO was accepted in 2001. Taiwan became the 144th member of the WTO on 1 January 2002, under the name of “Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu 台澎金馬個別關稅領域” (abbreviated as “Chinese Taipei”).

The People’s Republic of China became the 143rd member of WTO on 11 December 2001. Continue reading “International Organizations”

Foreign Missions in Taiwan

Below is a list of foreign missions, diplomatic, commercial, or otherwise, in Taiwan, in English alphabetical order of country name by region. States that don’t officially recognize the Republic of China (Taiwan) as a country don’t have embassies in Taiwan, but many of them operate de facto embassies or trade offices that do everything an embassy would do in other countries, just without the official diplomatic status (but Taiwan’s government treats them as if they are official embassies anyway). Not all offices listed below have the authority to grant entry visa into their respective country. For contact information of foreign missions, visit Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

States that recognize the Republic of China:

貝里斯大使館 Embassy of Belize
布吉納法索駐中華民國大使館 Ambassade du Burkina Faso
多明尼加共和國大使館 Embajada de la República Dominicana
薩爾瓦多共和國駐中華民國大使館 Embajada de El Salvador
瓜地馬拉共和國駐中華民國大使館 Embajada de Guatemala
海地共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Haiti
教廷駐華大使館 Nuntiatura Apostolica In Sinis (Holy See)
宏都拉斯共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Honduras
馬紹爾群島共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of the Marshall Islands
諾魯共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Nauru
尼加拉瓜共和國大使館 Embajada de la República de Nicaragua
帛琉共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Palau
巴拿馬共和國駐中華民國大使館 Embajada de Panamá
巴拉圭駐中華民國大使館 Embajada del Paraguay
索羅門群島駐中華民國大使館 Embassy of the Solomon Islands
聖克里斯多福及尼維斯大使館 Embassy of Saint Kitts and Nevis
聖露西亞大使館 Embassy of Saint Lucia
史瓦濟蘭王國大使館 Embassy of the Kingdom of Swaziland
吐瓦魯國駐華大使館 Embassy of Tuvalu

Continue reading “Foreign Missions in Taiwan”