Nigeria forces Taiwan trade office to relocate

After securing a lucrative investment package from China during the visit of Chinese foreigner minister in January this year, Nigeria ordered Taiwan to rename and move its trade office from the current capital, Abuja, to the commercial hub, Lagos, as well as to reduce the number of staff. Numerous negotiations between Taiwan and Nigeria followed, but to no avail.

Facing strong pressure from China, the director of Taiwan trade office was forced to leave the African country on March 31 as Nigeria could no longer guarantee his safety. Yesterday, Nigeria sent military police to close off the Taiwanese office in Abuja and forced staff to leave. Continue reading “Nigeria forces Taiwan trade office to relocate”


Taiwan to sign trade agreement with New Zealand

Taiwan and New Zealand will sign an economic cooperation agreement today in Wellington, removing much of trade tariffs between the two nations. A press conference will be held in Taipei at the same time in GIS MOTC Convention Center 集思交通部國際會議中心. Negotiation began in May 2012, followed by studies conducted by both sides on the benefits of such agreement. The agreement is officially between New Zealand and the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu, the name used by Taiwan in the World Trade Organization, as New Zealand maintains diplomatic relations with the People’s Republic of China and is careful to not to appear to recognize the sovereignty of Taiwan. The full title of the agreement is the “Agreement between New Zealand and the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, and Matsu on Economic Cooperation 紐西蘭與臺、澎、金、馬個別關稅領域經濟合作協定” (ANZTEC 臺紐經濟合作協定). Visit the website of Taiwan’s Ministry of Economic Affairs 經濟部 or the New Zealand Commerce and Industry Office to see the actual text of the agreement.

This is the first trade agreement Taiwan signs with a country with which it does not maintain formal diplomatic relations. Taiwan has signed free trade agreements with Panama, Guatemala, Nicaragua, El Salvador, and Honduras, which together account for less than one percent of Taiwan’s external trade. Taiwan is New Zealand’s 12th largest export market and 15th largest source of import. New Zealand currently maintains the New Zealand Commerce and Industry Office 紐西蘭商工辦事處 in Taipei to represent its interests in Taiwan. Currently citizens of the two nations can visit the other nation without a visa and stay up to 90 days. China Airlines 中華航空 currently operates flight from Taipei to Auckland via Brisbane, Australia.

Negotiation on a similar agreement between Taiwan and Singapore was concluded in May 2013, and both sides are in the process of legal scrubbing.

Foreign Missions in Taiwan

Below is a list of diplomatic missions set up by foreign governments in Taiwan, in English alphabetical order of country name by region. States that don’t officially recognize the Republic of China (Taiwan) operate de facto embassies or trade offices. These offices are usually staffed by professional diplomats without the official diplomatic titles. Not all offices listed below have the authority to grant entry visa into their respective countries or offer consular services. Contact an embassy/consulate in a nearby city outside of Taiwan (e.g. Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Beijing, Tokyo, Seoul, Manila, Bangkok, Singapore) or your foreign ministry if your country is not represented. Taiwan’s foreign ministry maintains a list of all foreign embassies and offices.

States that recognize the Republic of China:

貝里斯大使館 Embassy of Belize
布吉納法索大使館 Ambassade du Burkina Faso
多明尼加共和國大使館 Embajada de la República Dominicana
薩爾瓦多共和國大使館 Embajada de El Salvador
瓜地馬拉共和國大使館 Embajada de Guatemala
海地共和國大使館 Ambassade de la République d’Haïti
教廷駐華大使館 Nuntiatura Apostolica in Sinis (Holy See)
宏都拉斯共和國大使館 Embajada de Honduras
馬紹爾群島共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of the Marshall Islands
諾魯共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Nauru
尼加拉瓜共和國大使館 Embajada de la República de Nicaragua
帛琉共和國大使館 Embassy of the Republic of Palau
巴拉圭大使館 Embajada del Paraguay
索羅門群島大使館 Embassy of the Solomon Islands
聖克里斯多福及尼維斯大使館 Embassy of Saint Kitts and Nevis
聖露西亞大使館 Embassy of Saint Lucia
史瓦濟蘭王國大使館 Embassy of the Kingdom of Swaziland
吐瓦魯國大使館 Embassy of Tuvalu

Continue reading “Foreign Missions in Taiwan”